~ I survived ~

I’ve been trying to figure out the whole day on what should I write about for the anniversary of Ondoy. Should I share what I learned? Or should I write what happened after? I think I should just write down, again, on what I’ve learned and what happened after.

Well, basically, Ondoy is one of the biggest killers and contributors in case there is a collection of bad memories.

From the top of my head, I can still put into account all the things that had happened to us from the twenty-sixth to the twenty-eighth of September. I guess a lot of people still remember who experienced it, those ludicrous moments where you’d still wish that they are just a figment of your imagination. Where you’d want to wake up and say, “That was one horrible dream, my man.”

But you see, the greatest thing or the greatest medicine one can use, for the survivors of course, is to share and to constantly face what had happened to you. If you’re tired of the same shitty story, you can always look away. =)

It was kind of funny where people try to stay away from the conversation whenever they feel that someone who experienced it is in the room. You know that their eyes are probably looking at you, telling everyone that what they’re discussing is a very tricky subject and instead changes the topic instead to avoid, probably, embarrassment or more awkward situations.

I applaud the people who can bravely ask you if it was okay to talk about the subject. As far as I can remember, I wasn’t offended with the idea. And in fact, it was a breath of fresh air for me since you are helping with the situation.

I’ve been shedding a lot of tears lately and I am not ashamed to admit that. Therapy is a tricky subject. I’ve even tweeted @rockedradio (I bet it was Gang who replied) that I might shed tears if I ever join their Ondoy discussion. Right on target, cry cry cry while listening to their three, or was it two, hours of discussion. And she replied that tears can be shed and at the same time we should rejoice. We should rejoice that we are still alive after what happened.

She was absolutely right.

So now, I am going to make it a little wee bit different, every tear should be awarded with a smile, a smile that will constantly remind me that I am still alive.

And again, cheers to all those who survived and who helped all those people who were in need.

–=+=–

A shout-out to all people who helped us when we needed help the most, I won’t name names here. You know who you are. Much love from my family. =)

~ by targrod on September 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
