~ sing sing ~

I remember when I was young we did it all for fun.

No, this is not about anything that comprises the words sexual, orgy, gang and bang. Let’s keep it clean people.

Oh wait, come to think of it. Who does those sexual things for money?

“Ah, tatlo nga nung female tsaka dalawa nung male, to go…”

In a supposedly innocent entry I always end up with something… weird.

Anyhoo, i remember when I was young (totoo na to) I used to go out with a handful of the neighbor’s kids to do some house to house caroling. We don’t do those “I’m gonna knock on your door, ring on your bell” singing. For obvious reasons (duh), I am referring to Christmas caroling of course.

Don’t worry. There is a point in here… somewhere.

Siriusly, we did it for fun. But we were somehow madaya when we go caroling. We only sing in front of houses whom we know that we are being accepted wholeheartedly (parang kalalabas lang naming sa drug rehab, tapos acceptance with matching open arms. Ganun.)

I remember after two hours of singing, I usually end up with seven pesos and fifty centavos as my share. It didn’t matter because we did it for fun and the money that we get is just an added bonus.

I also remember that we don’t do generic songs. We keep it on a three song minimum or two; it depends on the longevity of the song. If I remember it correctly we almost didn’t say the irritating phrase, “namamasko po.”

And there was one time when we did sing in front of a guy who was drinking under a sari-sari store. Four songs felt like forever for him. We only got two pesos after that. It was heartbreaking, in a way, and after that, we didn’t do any caroling in stranger’s houses.

(Oh, eto na.)

Year’s pass by, the tradition of caroling degraded year after year. There was a time when December one came and you suddenly hear the screaming voices of kids who doesn’t really care if they are singing. To add, they don’t even care if they enter your garage or whatnot. They don’t usually sing their hearts out. They’ll try to sing the “samaybahay song” faster than I can say “nakakapagpabagabag” and after a minute or two they’d finally say, “namamasko po”.

Business. It seems that caroling is just a business nowadays. The art has lost and we’re stuck with eager beaver kids who really pester you until you say the “release” word este patawad.

And to add again, these kids mastered the art of underground crime networking. You know the part after they say, “Thank you thank you ambabait ninyo thank you”, after a few minutes a new set of carolers will suddenly sing the same song with the same tempo and the same scenario.

Well, actually, it is not always the case. I’ve been a part of a choir, and still am, and I remember those days where families really listened to our voices (I assure you I am not a good singer). One time we went as far as Jao Mapa’s house in Antipolo. We usually do the caroling chores if we need a new organ, guitar or even a bulb used for the overhead projector.

And yesterday, I finally heard a whole set of that “Gloria song”. I automatically asked my mom on who was singing and she told me that our local parish peeps is making the rounds.

Hey, just keeping the faith.

And death to the bastard carolers.

Just kidding.

~ by targrod on December 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
